How to Make an All-Natural Hydrating Body Wash

I recently shared how to make your own homemade natural soap bars as a way to clean your body using non-toxic, natural ingredients, but it suddenly occurred to me that for some people, using soap bars can dry out their skin. So, as another natural alternative, here is a recipe for a homemade natural body wash that leaves smelling like a field of lowers while moisturising your skin all at the same time!

This this moisturising body wash is gentle enough to use on your face, and also makes a rich lather.

I like to use glass pump bottles, as plastic can leach chemicals in the contents inside, particularly if stored for long periods of time, or if the contents are fatty or hot. But I understand if you’re worried about it breaking.

These are the glass pump bottles I use to store my homemade soaps in; it provides a wonderful lather to the soap with the pump lid.

DIY Natural Hydrating Body Wash

This body wash contains several natural skin care ingredients:

  • Raw honey: I’ve posted before about how great honey is for wound healing, but it’s also great for softening skin, has antiviral and antibacterial properties, and helps skin retain moisture and elasticity without drying it out. Always use local, raw honey (and ensure the honey was harvested by beekeepers who do not sacrifice the health of their bees for the honey) or you can use an organic raw honey (like this one) if you can’t source any locally. If you’re vegan, you can exclude this ingredient from the recipe (and sub in melted shea butter instead), however the consistency will be slightly different.
  • Liquid castile soap: A vegetable-based soap, it provides the cleansing ability without the harsh chemical foaming agents. This one is palm oil-free and unscented, so you can customise the scent with essential oils.
  • Natural carrier oils: These add add moisturising properties to the wash, as well as more benefits to the skin. Jojoba, grapeseed, sweet almond, coconut oil, castor, or olive oil work well.
  • Essential oils: Adding essential oils to the recipe gives the body wash a natural fragrance while at the same time, possibly adding benefits such as healing, calming, soothing, disinfecting, or deodorising qualities to the wash.

Ingredients:

To make:

  1. Pour all the ingredients into a small bowl, then stir together slowly (to avoid bubbling). 
  2. Transfer mixture to a foaming soap dispenser (preferably glass) and use in the shower as a body wash. You can pour this body wash onto a natural sea sponge or natural loofah for easy use. Lasts for 3 months.

As always, this is not personal medical advice and we recommend that you talk with your doctor before trying or using any new products. It’s important to check with a doctor before taking this or any new product, especially if taking any other medicine or supplement or if pregnant or nursing. Be sure to check ingredients to make sure there is no risk of an allergic reaction to it.

Have you made a natural body wash before? What was it like?! Share below in the comments.

Lots of love,

🖤 Vanessa

Sources:

Jabs, Betsy. A Natural and Moisturizing Homemade Body Wash. DIY Natural. Retrieved from https://www.diynatural.com/homemade-body-wash/

Wells, Katie. (January 9, 2019). Homemade Natural Body Wash. Wellness Mama. Retrieved from https://wellnessmama.com/23862/homemade-body-wash/

Laura. How to Make Natural Body Wash. Our Oily House. Retrieved from https://www.ouroilyhouse.com/how-to-make-natural-body-wash/

Adcock, Maria. (July 26, 2020). DIY Natural Body Wash. Bicultural Mama. Retrieved from https://www.biculturalmama.com/2020/07/diy-natural-body-wash.html

Wills, Angela. (Updated: June 23, 2021). A Homemade Body Wash Recipe That’s Marvellously Creamy. Savvy Homemade. Retrieved from https://www.savvyhomemade.com/homemade-body-wash/

Groza, Daria. (Updated: February 8, 2021). 11 Ways To Make Homemade Body Wash. Hello Glow. Retrieved from https://helloglow.co/11-ways-make-homemade-body-wash/

Gerber, Stephanie. (December 7, 2020). Super Moisturizing Shea Butter Body Wash. Hello Glow. Retrieved from https://helloglow.co/super-moisturizing-shea-butter-body-wash/